Isola di San Michele (The Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland) : Carl Michael von Hausswolff, Leif Elggren, Jan Håfström, Marja-Leena Sillanpää

14 February - 9 March 2008



With effect from the 10th of June 2007. We, The Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland, are annexing and occupying Isola di San Michele, the Island of the Dead,formerly a part of the city of Venice, Republic of Italy. From this point on and forever We designate this island as a part of our physica territory, as a part of the Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland.




This simple fact, in combination with the insight that communication (in both directions) with the Other Side is possible, opens the door to the possibility of further investigation and exploration into the Realm of the Dead. Those individuals who have passed away shall now have the possibility to refuse citizenship to the Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland because all dead are already, since 1993, citizens of the Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland.


As of the 29th of April, 1993 all citizens of Elgaland-Vargaland have eternal life. This means that from 29th of April and for eternity, no one from Elgaland-Vargaland shall cross over the border to the Land of the Dead. Instead we see that the Dead, by means of citizenship to the Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland, receive eternal life and thus re-enter the existential community and recapture a place amongst the living.


This new issue of stamps celebrates this and the incorporation of the Island of the Dead as a part of the physical territory of the Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland, giving the dead citizens a place to dwell.


Leif Elggren
CM von Hausswolff
Jan Håfström
Marja-Leena Sillanpää


Minister of Galleries Niklas Belenius, Stockholm
Minister for Persuation M von Hausswolff von Baumgarten, Stockholm


Venezia June 10, 2007
The Kingdoms of Elgaland-Vargaland


With effect from the 14th of March 1992, we are annexing and occupying the following territories:


All border frontier areas between all countries on earth, and all areas (up to a width of 10 nautical miles) existing outside all countries’ territorial waters. We designate these territories our physical territory.


Mental and perceptive territories such as: the Hypnagogue State (civil), the Escapistic Territory (civil) and the Virtual Room. (

Schlaraffenland (ann. 1994), Utopia (ann. 2003), Isola di San Michele (ann. 2007)
On the 27th of May 1992 at 12 noon GMT, we proclaimed the state of Elgaland-Vargaland.